Diesel Place banner

1 - 20 of 55 Posts

·
Registered
242 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I noticed that it seems like you cannot get the ZF-6 with the newest duramax engine... does this mean the end of the ZF-6 in GM trucks??

·
Registered
663 Posts
You can get the ZF6 with the "newest" Duramax engine. What you don't get are the high output power numbers. Power is still stuck at 300hp and 520 ft-lbs of torque. This is because GM won't dump money into developing the DMF to hold more power since 98% of the trucks they sell get an Allison.
You're right that the end is near. Supposedly when the GMT-900 HD trucks come out as 08 models they will only be offered with the slushbox.

·
Registered
1,956 Posts
I will be very interested when the first LBZ comes out with a ZF and someone puts a SMF/DDC on and tests the power capability!!

·
Registered
1,265 Posts
Let me get on my soapbox for a moment.

:rant: I have been driving a handshaker for over 30 years and do not plan on going to an automatic any time soon. Fortunatelly my Dmax is just getting broke in (I only have 140k+ miles:) ) so I will not be in the market for a new truck for quite some time.

But Censored , when I purchase a truck, I want what I want! If I want to shift my own gears then so be it!!! I sure in the Censored don't want to have to spend over $2k on an option for something I don't Censored want!!!! This really Censored pi$$es me off!!! I have owned GM for over 30 years, but if GM isn't going to offer a gear jammer in the GMT-900 HDs, then the clutch on my next truck may not be hanging from a GM product!!! :rant:

Ok...I feel better now!!!

MaxRock

·
Premium Member
20,558 Posts
guys dont lose faith yet. Not that this means anything, but so far I have not heard of the ZF6 going anywhere...GM is dumb about some things, but seriously I dont think theyd be dumb enough NOT to offer a manual in the GMT-900's

·
Registered
663 Posts