Diesel Place banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just bought a 1992 one ton with the 6.5 in it and some problems and questions have came up....The overdrive only works until the truck warms up, you can feel it downshift coming out of overdrive and it will not shift back until the truck has cooled for a couple hours. Also if I put it in first it shifts hard into second before reaching 3,000 rpms, just wondering if this is normal or not

If I drive it for a while it will sometimes try not to start, or if it starts it will die befor i make it 50ft. down the road...I did the lift pump test and the truck died so i'm assuming the lift pump is bad, but I cannot get it to start again. The truck will try to fire and die again, this has been ongoing for the last couple hours....Previous owner said the truck has new glow plugs, injector pump and fuel pump if this helps....

I'm a diesal newbie and not a very good mechanic so anyhelp will be appreciated..I'll fix what I can myself but if need be I am willing to put it in the shop...

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Today has been a learning experience...the truck finally started, apparently I didn't prime it well enough therefore it didnt start. Once it started I was able to determine that the connection to the lift pump was bad, now the problem is securing that connection so that the pump doesnt quit working while i'm driving down the road. Its been rewired already; the wires coming from the pump have been spliced to the wires on the male end of the plug but I think the problem lies in the female end of the plug, either where it is wired into the harness or in the plug itself. Can you replace these plug ends? My worry is bumps in the road causing it to lose connection, quit working and damage the injector pump itself...

help would still be appreciated

·
Banned
9,366 Posts