Diesel Place banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
9,300 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have 8k on my 2500 d/a. I will never tow anything. I use it for camping and 4x4 driving. Is the engine broken in enough to switch? Is it OK to just drain the regualr oil and pour in the syn? Whats the best syn to run? I want to keep this truck for 200K.

Took this pic while camping in Josua Tree........

·
Registered
16,610 Posts
I would say it is enought to switch. I have read that you can run synthetic right from 0 miles. I personally would run at least 5-10,000 miles to get the rings seated. But I am far from an expert

Nice picture!

·
Registered
403 Posts
Amsoil states in their technical literature that a break in is not necessary. Many new hipo cars come right from factory with synthetic already in. I put 7k on mine on original oil, then installed Amsoil dual remote full flow/bypass filter amd Amsoil. 5k since, and all is well.

·
Registered
12,262 Posts
I waited till 5K ..... George Morrision stated you could switch to Synthetic at anytime .... Most wait till the initial couple quick drains at 500 and 2500 to flush out wear metals .... More of a cost issue ....

I recommend any synthetic that is Duramax "Certified" for use,check for the starburst seal and ratings ....

Mac

·
Registered
1,360 Posts
I asked this question on another post. Later, I was looking at the service bulletin list and there is one about checking for excessive oil consumption. It basically says that the dealers are not supposed to do that until the vehicle has 5,000 miles on it. That would suggest GM does not figure the rings will be seated until then.

That 5,000 mile figure has been suggested by several individuals on this forum as well, so it sounds good to me.

·
Registered
772 Posts