Diesel Place banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My wife and I recently moved into a HR 37 foot 5th wheel w 4 slides. We are retireing in a couple of months and will full time. I don't have a tow rig yet. I've owned desiels befor so not a total novice, but they've changed alot from 15 years ago.

Ater reading this and RV.Net forums, I think if I go with a 1 ton, I'll get a GMC with Duramax and Allison 6 speed. Probably in an extracab with SLE for comfort. We're hopeing to spend alot of time (years) doing this.

One train of thought that seems to pop up on the forums is to get a 45 or 5500. Preferably with air ride chasis etc.

My 5th wheel has a dry weight of about 12,300 and GVW of 16,900.

The dealers around here act like I'm speaking Greek if I ask questions regarding safety, stopping capacity, gear ratio, longevity etc.

I've seen alot of 1 tons out on the road pulling 5th wheels, don't know if they are as heavy as the one I'll be pulling. Should I have the bigger rig? Is the 3500 enough? If I get it, do I need air brakes, a air ride 5th wheel conection?

Any help would be appreciated!!

·
Registered
500 Posts
Hi dwolf. :welcome:

If you do a search, I think you will find 3500s and some 2500s pulling that weight. I'm no expert, so hopefully someone else will chime in, but I think the 3500 would do the job.

If nothing else, consider this a ...

*bump* of the thread.

·
Registered
35 Posts
Pulling weight