Diesel Place banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to diesel, and I was working in one of my houses today. When I got out of the truck, I accidentally did not turn the key off all the way, and it sat in the up position where you wait for the glow plug light to turn off, for a few hours.

Well, I get back in and go to turn it on, and it just cranks. I turned off the key for 5 minutes all the way, turned it to the glow plug position, and the light does not even come on for a split second, and it won't start.

Did having the key fry the plugs? Or did they drain that second battery thats in there (which I am only assuming has something to do with them.) Thanks and I appreciate the patience for reading this.Edited by: lookslikeahog

·
Registered
8,014 Posts
Give some more specifics on your truck, put them in your signature line so you don't have to keep reposting, it helps to aid in troubleshooting your ride.

Depending on what equipment you have several things to check, Batts and batt connections 1st, if those are good, is starter coming up to speed, then glow controller, and plugs.

I'm hoping for batts, charge both as the operate in a parallel 1 bad will pull down whole system volts always replace in pairs look for mfg lot date it's better to have batts built same time frame.

Glow controller is supposed to cycle on and off glows to prevent overheat, if batts are good you can test glows by going to output side of controller energize glows direct to batt with momentary energize about 5 sec or so , really don't need glows on warm day +50F if batts and starter are in good condition. worst case scenario is bad glows swolen in holes, as far as you know are these original glows, depending on your year may or may not be big concern.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
This should fix my signature. My truck should be below. So perhaps I drained the batteries. No problems until this.

·
Registered
5,245 Posts