Diesel Place banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
92 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
What are the warrenty implications of installing the Nictane, and Oilgaurd filter systems? Which if any of these kits can a layman install. I am a poor mechanic at best, but have 11K on my 03 Duramax, and want it to last a long time.

Thanks in advance for your helping a rookie.

·
Registered
12,262 Posts
Pre OE on the Nicktane shouldn't be an issue .... It is easily reversed also should a finger pointing arise ... The only issue I could see would be IF they could prove a greater vacuum was created causing a failure ... I don't see this as a problem ,with proper maintenance ,but if your concerned and it's valid you may be, check with your service department first before install ....The Pros of additional filteration out weigh the cons .....

The Oil Guard dual by pass to me (to me) is more of an extended drain wannabe .... Oil is cheep, so are filters .... Unless you want to run synthetic with extended drain intervals with oil analysis or your a bomber looking to remove some additional oil soot contamination, IMO your wasting your time ..... But that's a personal opinion,your mileage may differ ....

Mac Edited by: Mackin

·
Registered
92 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Mac

Thanks for the input. What is the best oil filter? Have started using the Amsoil, but see many being discussed. Agree, oil is cheap, and changing is a good idea. Using Delvac 1. Is the Nicktane system easy to install?

Thanks,

Mark

·
Registered
12,262 Posts
I prefer to use the AC Delco filter,convience of purchase more than anything .... But Amsoil ,WIX ,Baldwin,Champion are are of good quality ....Just stay away from the El'cheapo brands ,Fram comes to mind .....Delvac I is quality oil ,I run it myself as many do....

Mac

·
Registered
6,504 Posts