Diesel Place banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
176 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a newbie to this board and first time diesel owner, so take it easy on me. I recently purchased an '06 GMC Extended Cab 2500HD, and so far I am really impressed with this truck, compared to what I was driving, it is a Cadillac.

I am presently working 10 hr shifts and get off between 3-4 AM and my truck has to sit in an unprotected lot for 10-12 hrs. The temps are presently running in the low 20's & 30's and so far I have just started it up and let it idle till the temp comes up and not experienced any problems.

Is this the correct procedures or any suggestions?

·
Registered
924 Posts
Theres gonna be a lot of opinions.I let my oil pressure come up and go.I just take it easy till the temp and trany temp come up.

·
Registered
884 Posts
Sounds about right. Just don't run it too hard right off when you leave. Letting it idle for a bit before you leave will help warm up the engine but the trans, transfer-case, and diffs won't be warmed by it. They only really warm up once you have driven for a bit.

·
Registered
3,137 Posts
get a auto start and then you don't have to worry but i just let my oil pressure come up too and take it easy on the truck till i get some temp in the engine

·
Registered
1,014 Posts
Wait for the voltage guage to come up to normal (14V) and mossy down the road for the first ~5 miles and don't jump on it until the temp guage does it's first swing down from 195 and you should be good.

Going by your screen name I'm guessing you're in Texas? When you get a chance fill out your signature.

·
Registered
4,422 Posts
Im in the minority it looks like but personally if my high idle kicks on I dont move till it kicks off. I also then mosy down the road 35-40 slow acceleration until the rear end transfer case oils have a chance to warm up usually about 2-3 miles (esp when 15 below and windchill like it has been). When above 32-50 usually 5 min. above 50 30 seconds.

·