Diesel Place banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone have lurked on here for a while and have been putting a build together for a couple years now that I have been dreaming about for 20 years. This is very non conventional but that's just who I am and I always want to push the envelope. I have prepared myself to fail and lots of trial and error but if I hit my mark I feel this may be something worth documenting.

The plan

Build a 1984 Toyota Land Cruiser FJ60 with 1 ton axles, dual transfercases and 40" tires that I can still afford to drive daily if I chose. My dream when I was 12 was a massive diesel powered Land Cruiser like the stock one I grew up with just better, after lots of research and remembering that dream I loved the idea of a supercharged diesel that is mainly for LIGHT DUTY and devoted mainly to moving its own weight with efficiency. That's when a mil spec 93 6.5 with serp belt and like 10k miles on it fell in my lap. Its of course turbo charged but after looking at the extremely inefficient way the turbo has to be setup and how low of boost these high compression motors need to build decent power I started researching other options.

I came across Billet supercharger kit that was installed on an FJ80 and beat the turbocharged version by 2 car links at 1/4 mile and suddenly understood my thinking was in the right direction. But the price was very hard to handle. More research and I come across the Eaton M122 and all its siblings that come from a mid to late model mustang that has a very easily adaptable footprint to the flat intake of these 6.5's I again was intrigued. Plus they are cheap on ebay.