Diesel Place banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
118 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was wondering why no one uses turbo timers on our trucks. Do the turbos have great cooling an no heat soak? I have a modified Toyota turbo truck and that was one of the first things that I bought in order to prevent coking of the oil. I also know most turbo rice rockets use turbo timers. I searched this board for "turbo timer" and got no results.

·
Registered
1,124 Posts
I'm a maintence guy by trade and don't quite understand what a Turbo Timer is or does.

Unlike a gas engine which could run OK without the use of the turbo, the Dmax will run like crap because of the design of the engine requires pressure from the turbocharger.

So what does a turbo timer do?

·
Registered
118 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Turbo timers keep the engine running after you remove the key. It allows the engine to keep fluids moving at idle which cools the turbo to a safe shut off temperature. If you shut down while the turbo is still VERY hot, the oil will coke. Over time, the oil pathways will look like the plumbing in a 90 year old house.

Here's a random website that came up when I searched google for turbo timer.

http://www.eautoworks.com/html/ape-auto~performance-Turbo~Timer.htm

·
Registered
128 Posts
I believe just as with any aftermarket part there are stands on both sides of the fence. I know gassers use them, but some say we dont need them.

·
Registered
118 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
tanner or anyone,

Do you know the reasoning behind why diesels don't need them? I would think that oil cokes no matter whether it's in a diesel turbo or gas turbo. I could be wrong, but just wanted to know why if I am, so I can put my mind at ease.

·
Registered
747 Posts
IIRC, the turbo on the LB7 is cooled with the engine coolant. I don't recall whether or not the LLY's turbo is cooled the same.

·
Registered
1,444 Posts
mbeckwith said:
tanner or anyone,