Diesel Place banner

1 - 20 of 42 Posts

·
Registered
501 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
OK, so my "Service engine soon" light came on about a week ago. It was intermittent at first, but now its been on for the past few days. I went through the diagnositc checks on the sticky, the lift pump checked good and I was doing the ones on the turbo. The wastegate rod was sucked into the actuator housing and I could not push it down. But I was getting a boatload of black smoke (alot more than ususal) under hard acceleration. I brought it over to a Shucks and got the codes read, yup it was tubo related.
I have the following:
Freeze code: P0236 - turbocharger boost sensor A circuit range / performance
Pending code: P1656 - Wastegate solenoid control circuit fault

This is both my first diesel and turbo equipped truck, so I'm still learning as I go along. I did a search but couldn't find this problem already posted. What exactly do these problems mean, and how do I fix them?

Thanks in advance

·
Registered
8,014 Posts
Look for loss of vacuum or a WG solenoid bad, start from vac pump make sure it has 15" minimum vac at idle, verify no cracks in the lines, if mechanically sound then problem routinely lies with bad WG solenoid or wires to it. Sustained heavy black smoke on accel is indicative of insufficient air, working WG system has puff of black smoke going to light brown then mostly clear as turbo spools up and adds air to fuel

·
Registered
501 Posts
Discussion Starter #3 (Edited)