Diesel Place banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
85 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Friends..

I am new to the diesel world and have a stock 99' 6.5TD Suburban. What does the vaccum pump operate in the 6.5TD? How does the Turbo Master work? How do they work together. I just read in a thread the vaccum pump can be remove with a Turbo Master install in the "F" engines, which I have.

I want to install gauges and exhaust before a Turbo Master and PCM reprogram.

Thanks

·
Registered
3,222 Posts
If you have EGR stuff, you'll need the vacuum pump to keep that part going. If a HD engine (no EGR) the vacuum pump only does the wastegate actuator on the turbo.

·
Registered
5,861 Posts
He has an F, so no EGR.

·
Registered
85 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
So how does a Turbo Master work? I have read about people making them for a few bucks.. Or buy one for around 100 bucks. I would rather make one :) but I need to understand what is does and why.

Information please

Thanks

·
Registered
3,222 Posts
Homework assignment

It's in the library of FAQ's:

° Wastegate/turbo operation. Turbo/Wastegate Operation
° How does the turbo work and what can go wrong with it.

Information provided...

·
Registered
2,883 Posts
try this post. www.dieselplace.com/forum/showthread.php?t=67572 what the turbo master does is allows you to dial in as much or little boost and hold it at that level. stock setup would allow boost to come up to about 12 lbs and then it would drop down slowly. even with foot to the floor. the way mine is now i can hold 10 lbs until i let my foot off the pedal. or driving down a flat road it will hold 3-4 lbs. would i say make one yourself. i did and i'm not a mechanic but have some knowledge and it worked for me. just not sure about quantums question about fooling the ecm. ?????

·
Registered
85 Posts
Discussion Starter #7