Diesel Place banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
374 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was curious if the transfer case brace can be installed when the tranny is up in place. Just want to make sure that the torsion bar set up can stay in place. Don't want to be removing them. Let me know.

·
Registered
1,621 Posts
Gotta say "yes" if it's the Suncoast brace you are talking about. They say install takes less than 30 minutes according to their web site. Give 'em a call to be sure but I don't see anyone dropping a tranny and back in under 30 minutes.

·
Registered
92 Posts
Had a local trans. shop install mine. Transmission stayed in place - it took maybe 20 minutes for them to do it.

·
Registered
123 Posts
I installed mine in the driveway. I cant say it only took me 20 mins though I am no mechanic so it took me 45 mins or so just couldnt get the ratchet in there.

dave

·
Registered
374 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Thanks for the info, sounds pretty easy.

·
Registered
2,605 Posts
I love the smilies GMC-2002-Dmax

That is the funniest one I have ever seen. Its great!

C-ya

As for the brace, I got it but I had it installed when they put my trans back in. It seems to be doing its job.

·
Registered
2,081 Posts
is the brace worth the cash???

·
Registered
897 Posts
That is what I was wondering. What is this brace suspose to brace up?

·
Registered
6,504 Posts
It braces the transfer case to the Allison - fits across the gap on the top to reduce flexing in the tailpiece.

·
Registered
155 Posts
Well what's a rear tail housing worth these days from GM? (I'm not trying to sound like a smartash either) Lot-n-lots O' torque happening on that there drivetrain! It helps maintain strength between your tailshaft housing and transfer case. HTH

·
Registered
11,955 Posts
And Chebby has seen what happens when some crazy guy runns around with some HP without one. ;) ):h

·
Registered
2,605 Posts