Diesel Place banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
1,274 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
For about the last month I have been listening to a clunk in my tranny, or rear end for that matter. It only does it when I go into reverse. When I go into reverse, It will sometime clunk when I'm moving, or sometimes it will happen when I'm sitting there idiling. I'm not a mechanic, but I think it sounds like some sort of pump, or converter or something. Like I said, sometimes It does it when I'm moving, and sometimes it just does it sitting there. So I don't think it is gears in the rear end, or some kind of moving part.

I have already flushed my tranny twice and replaced factory fluid with Transynd. I also have changed my front and rear differential fluid twice, and have replaced with Amsoil synthetic. The truck has 37,000 miles on it. So needless to say, the maintenence is getting done.

Maybe someone has an idea on what is going on.

P.S.- there is no visible leaks anywhere. And fluid is full. Maybe there is a tsb on something like this.

·
Registered
251 Posts
Mine did that to. I changed the rear axle oil to Mobil 1 and that fixed it. It took a little time for the oil to circulate before it stopped though.

04 LBY

·
Registered
51 Posts
Tomm;

Does it only "thump" when you are:

Parked (say for the evening), Fire her up, plece it in Reverse and back up, place in forward gear, give a little throttle and "thump"?

Elvis

·
Registered
9,300 Posts
Mine does it too. But I think its the rear springs your hearing. Mine make noise all the time.

·
Registered
8 Posts
I don't think that it is the rear springs that are making the noise, because it will do it when I am not moving. I don't think that it is in the rear end. Anymore comments would be nice.

·
Registered
1,274 Posts
Discussion Starter #6