Diesel Place banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Gentlemen,

Please excuse me if this has already been discussed elsewhere. I am not well versed with the search function.

I will be moving from MI to FL on the 20th and will be pulling a u-haul 12ft, dual axle trailer. I have a 07 LBZ, SRW, 3500,4X4, Reg Cab--all stock except for line-x. I estimate the trailer weight will be around 6,000 lbs (probably more), the trailer is equipped with surge brakes.

So what I really need to know is:

1. do I need to put the ally trans in tow/haul for the entire trip?

2. I bought a 7.25 in. drop hitch/ball to hook up to the trailer--this seemed like alot of drop, but the u-haul guy says this is the correct set-up. Is he right?

I realize these are probably pretty dumb questions, but I'm new to the truck and to towing in general. Any help would be appreciated.

·
Registered
924 Posts
Leave it in tow-haul when your pulling the trailer.The ball should be just above your rear axel or sometimes even with the rear axel.I like mine a little high from the rear axel.Stand on the side of your truck and look at the rear center of axel and at the same time look at the ball.The ball may be a little higher then the axel.Line the ball up with the axel center as close as you can get.

·
Registered
13,596 Posts
I usually center the weight over the trailer axles and try to keep the trailer as level as possible.Tow/haul works well on the highway,I dont like it in town because of the higher shift points.

·
Registered
418 Posts
You really do not need tow/haul on a trailer that light. Seems like my owners manual recommended tow/haul only if the trailer weighed 75% or more of the GCWR of the truck, in hilly terrain, and stop and go (city) driving. Using it outside those conditions will do nothing but reduce your MPG.

·
Registered
593 Posts