Diesel Place banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
182 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Sorry, this is a lengthy post...but I really need some expert feedback here.

We recently purchased a used 5th wheel toy hauler and I have some questions about towing. I'm not new to towing long trailers but I'm new to 5th wheel towing and towing that much weight on a consistent basis.

I haven't weighed the camper yet but the sticker says dry weight is right around 14,000lbs and about 2,800lbs pin weight.

I want to get some expert opinions when towing with my stock 2008 Silverado 3500 DRW and what to expect. I realize this is a heavy and long RV and just want to be sure what I'm feeling going down the road is normal due to the weight of the RV.

When I purchased my truck a number of years back, someone had already installed a B&W turnover ball goose neck hitch, of which I've never used. Prior to purchasing the RV I researched B&W's website and found they offered the 5th wheel companion hitch that compliments the B&W goose neck receiver. I bought the companion hitch and installed it per the instructions setting the pivot arms at the recommended "Standard" setting.

We purchased the RV, hooked up to the new hitch and headed home. Driving down Interstate I-83 from Harrisburg to York the camper seemed to "buck" when we drove over bumps, dips in the road, bridges, etc. It felt like someone was holding you at the waist and pushing/pulling you forward a little....was not a real pleasant experience. Best I can describe it is if you ride with someone that is on the gas then off the gas...on the gas then off the gas...with no real smooth transitions.

Anyways, we brought the rig home and parked it. I purchased Bilstein HD shocks and installed them on the truck. At 115k on the truck the shocks were completely gone. I could easily compress them and they didn't even return to extended form.