Diesel Place banner

1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Registered
307 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
The rear AC in my 95 suburban is very consistent. 55 degrees at idle, almost 50 while driving.
The front will fluctuate from lower 50s all the way up to 70. I can't find any pattern to it. Sometimes it feels great, then it feels like the AC was turned off. Even when the front goes to 70, the rear is still blowing cold. All measured with an infrared thermometer.

I'm no AC expert so help would be appreciated. There is only one compressor, correct? So the compressor is fine since the rear always blows cold. Could it be the blend door is moving sometimes?

I did take it to an AC shop. The pressures where fine and the front was blowing cold while they had it, so they just said it works.

Any thoughts?

Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App

·
Registered
100 Posts
What was the outside temp? The test of an AC system is temperature differential, outside temp vs output temp. Is it putting out the same temp front and rear?

I know on my burb it takes 10 miles or so with front and rear AC to get it cooled down and then it will freeze you out at the 20 mile mark.

Yes, one compressor but the front has an orifice tube and the rear has an expansion valve. I have had the orifice tube clog up while the rear works great. Then the front works great while the rear doesn't.

On a 95 burb the orifice tube is found on the passenger side of the engine bay just after the "Y" split located behind the condenser. One side of the "Y" works the front and the other flows to the back where the expansion valve is located.

To answer your question, "Can an orifice tube work intermittently?" Not really. You could have debris in the system that catches in the orifice tube. I had this on my burb, took forever to flush it all out.