Diesel Place banner

1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
May be a dumb question... but I have found all sorts of info on the drain and flush process, but is there any quick information on changing out the spin-on filter.. and magnet.... pictures would be great. :rolleyes:

Or Mackin's flush procedure with pics to help us nonmechanically inclined guys would be very helpful. :D

Storman22

·
Registered
3,129 Posts
storman22;1571901; said:
May be a dumb question... but I have found all sorts of info on the drain and flush process, but is there any quick information on changing out the spin-on filter.. and magnet.... pictures would be great. :rolleyes:

Or Mackin's flush procedure with pics to help us nonmechanically inclined guys would be very helpful. :D

Storman22
Remove the filter and magnet,clean the magnet,fill your new filter with the proper ATF,reinstall the magnet,tighten. DONE--No pics needed.

·
Registered
93 Posts
Yup, I'm new to Allison's, but the convenience is great. The filter may be on a little snug from the factory.

·
Registered
400 Posts
cdent;1571962; said:
Yup, I'm new to Allison's, but the convenience is great. The filter may be on a little snug from the factory.

A Little? When I did my first oil change, allison spin on, and the Fuel filter changes, it was like King Kong itself was tightening these filters on the line! :wtf:
A good filter wrench may be needed.

·
Registered
2,331 Posts
[email protected];1571924; said:
Remove the filter and magnet,clean the magnet,fill your new filter with the proper ATF,reinstall the magnet,tighten. DONE--No pics needed.
:exactly: Climb under the truck. Have your new filter ready, with a new xtra magnet on the filter. Change it when the truck is cold, and 5 minutes or less, it's done...

·
Registered
6,558 Posts
damn i feel stupid, i just had the dealer do it and now i cant tell if they put the magnent back on.