Diesel Place banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

I am a diesel noob who has decided to build a Toyota FJ40 with a surplus 6.2 that I recently bought in a surplus auction. I am building it from the frame up and would like to do it right the first time....but still be frugal.

I just got the engine and I think it looks pretty good, my plan is to tear it down to the bare block and overhaul it with new rings, bearings and gaskets. Obviously while it is apart I will check for cracks and any other defects. My question for ya'll (this first of many I'm sure) is, do you have any reccomendations for things to replace/upgrade before I put it in?

Bear in mind part of the reason I got a 6.2 is cost. I am not looking for performance upgrades, just reliability and things that are much easier to go ahead and do before installing the engine.

Should I go ahead and have the IP rebuilt now of should I wait until it is installed and see how it works and if it works just go with it. What is the life expectancy of an IP. I doubt this engine has more than 50k on it and has an overhaul tag on it already.

·
Registered
98 Posts
Nice score on the motor! You may want to just check the overall condition of the motor and install it, I've got 325k and 375k on both my 6.2's, and as far as I can tell, neither of them have had anything other than a few gaskets, water pump or lift pump replaced since they were new.

·
Registered
2,980 Posts
if you want to do it on the cheap side, i say just run it without changing anything. i wouldnt worry about the ip, see how it works and fix it when/if it needs it. if you arent going to be beefing up the power, you dont have that much to worry about. good decent engine imo.

·
Premium Member
5,971 Posts
Oh man you had me so jealous for about 10 seconds. I thought you got the whole Humvee...:D

·
Mad (Sean) Max
9,602 Posts