Diesel Place banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
138 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Anyone out there with a new 6 speed transmission have any information about the recommended shift rpm's for the 600 engine? In the short time I have been driving it seems like the optimal rpm's for each gear is 2000-2100 rpm's. Keep in mind this is with a empty truck and no trailer. Anything above 2100 rpm's it seems that the turbo spools faster but you don't get much speed advantage out of the extra rpm's. I'm sure with some weight in the back or a trailer the rpm shift points would change but for now I am running with a unloaded truck. Any information would be greatful.

·
Registered
365 Posts
Mine is a 555 so it might not be relevant. Most shifts seem comfortable around 2,300rpm's for me. Less than that and there seems to be a moment where accelleration is paused and then picks up. That is under load.

Solo I do the same but skip a gear, following a 2-4-6 shift pattern. Any less rpm and there is too much rpm drop for me to be comfortable.

·
Registered
57 Posts
I assume your truck is brand new. It's going to be very tight and somewhat reluctant to rev in the upper rpm range. I noticed this when my truck was brand new.

I usually shift around the 2,300rpm, seems to be the sweet spot for the engine and tranny, anything above this doesn't gain very much. Probably caused by the low flow rate from the stock muffler.

MikeyB

·
Registered
138 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Yes, the truck is brand new, well 700 miles. It is reluctant to run in the high range ie. 2300 rpm and above. I don't see much gain either by going higher in rpm's. What range aren't you comfortable with hoot? 500-700 or below that?

·
Registered
2 Posts
I too, couldn't find shift point or upper RPM cruise limits, so I asked Cummins. The answer was: