Diesel Place banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
have had my 6.5 about four months now, and previous owner claimed that truck had recent warranty replacent injection pump. within the last 1.5 months i have had a few random incidents. 1st the truck stalled out on 3 separate occasions and would not restart (no sound of fuel pump operation for about 5 minutes until i pulled the fuel pump relay and cooled it in my hands). the first 2 times were in stop and go with no overheating. the third was after trailering on the bypass during that incident the low coolant light came on and went off several times, but engine is not low on coolant or over heating. then last week on two separate ocasions, after driving long backroads, i had the engine start to stutter and loose power, all would return to normal after cooling down. i repaced the fuel pump relay and problem has not yet reoccured. i'm new to chevy diesels and am wondering if this is the infamous PMD(FSD) module that is possibly causing these problems and does any one know if the dealer replaces that with the injection pump when under warranty?Edited by: rusty75

·
Registered
5,245 Posts
If it's still under warranty they will probably replace the whole thing and send the core back to stanadyne as a unit.

I have mine remote mounted. The trucks seemed to have a better throttle response after the 42" wire harness was installed. I think it has something to do with the FSD being an eletonic throttle cable of sorts, that with extra resistance opens more. Red wireloom

·
Registered
1,443 Posts
With only 52k miles on it, you can get GM to fix it under warrantee. If it is the FSD, it is supposed to be covered in the 120k warrantee.

·
Registered
115 Posts
They replace the fsd with the ip when they do a warranty on the ip. Just had mine done last week.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #5