Diesel Place banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
244 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all. I think I have myself confused here, so I need some input. Truck & 5th-Wheel are in sig. Ok.....I'm going to hit the Cat Scales next week. I've never done this before & not sure of the proper way to go about it. Over thinking it & got myself all confused - LOL. I'll be fully loaded up as if I were heading out for the weekend. Should I pull on with my whole setup, then pull off drop the 5th-Wheel & pull the truck back on ?? Will this work for me or does it even matter ?? Really curious as to what the pin/hitch weight is on this trailer.

Oh.....I just got off the phone with B&W & they said 175 lbs. for the hitch. Will this figure into the equation ??

Thanks in advance for replies, I know you all will set me straight !!

·
Premium Member
14,363 Posts
It's best if you can play around at the scale. The best possible info you can get would be for the weight at each wheel of both truck and trailer when hooked up, plus the weight of each wheel on the truck when not hooked up. You don't need the weight of each trailer wheel when unhooked as it will be the same as when hooked up. When hooked to the truck, the truck takes some of the trailer weight at the pin and when unhooked, the front landing gear take that weight, so the weight on the tires remains the same, at least for sake of this discussion.