Diesel Place banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1,224 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I tried to search this, but didn't really get the answer to my question. I've changed oil in the rear differentials of many trucks/cars in the past. In the case of changing the axle seals in my truck (sig.), I button everything back up, then jack up the opposite side as far as the jack will go and add oil. Once I let it back down, I check the oil level and then just drive really slow for the first few miles. I usually drive in the ditch by the road, so as to slosh the oil into the side needing oil.

Since the fill hole bottom appears to be below the axle tube, does the axle shaft, itself, carry the oil out to the bearings in the hub? Can someone explain to me just how this works? Am I filling these diffs. the right way? Apparently it's working because I've been doing it for many years without trouble, but is there a better way? I've even done the same thing on the dump truck when I changed oil in it, but it's more difficult to lift that up and feel safe doing so when the axle is at that sort of angle on a jack.

SnowDrift

·
Registered
272 Posts
I asked the same question in a post down the board a little "10.5 Full FLoater?", because I was also concerned that the fill plug appears to be slightly below the bottom of the axle tubes, and especially since GM apparently slightly underfills these units. I am gonna do what you and others have suggested: First, make sure the vent tube and hose is free and not kinked, and then just jack up the right side a little to make sure its full. Dont know what axle you've got on your 95. The Dmax/8.1 trucks with the 11.5 14 bolt and the fill plug on the rear cover dont seem to be as bad as the 10.5 14 bolt with the plug on the side.

·
Registered
1,224 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·