Diesel Place banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
2018 L5P all OEM and original batteries (bought December 31, 2017)

Im an OTR trucker and was gone for 2.5 months. I'm home for a week pickup started fine and ran great three days later the alarm decides to just randomly go off on four separate occasions. So I went and had the batteries load tested and was told they were fine (12.6 and 87% charged to me thats not fine) my APU kicks on @13 in my big iron. I researched a little and found possibilites

dead battery in key FOB
hood switch
door looking switch

Im currently charging the batteries at home, but I'm still leaning towards a bad cell or battery or both. if thats the case I will have to replace both. Im going back out on the road again tuesday morning @ 4 am. I hope I can solve this issue before then. All help is appreciated.

Shawn

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
I went and had a second load test and the unique (passengers) side has a load on it from somewhere. its reading 12.4. I have checked all the connections no corrosion and they are tight.

·
Registered
126 Posts
So I went and had the batteries load tested and was told they were fine (12.6 and 87% charged to me thats not fine)

Shawn
Not sure what you are saying or implying. 12.6v on an automotive battery is pretty much considered 100% charge.

With the parasitic drain from the computers and radio, just keep your truck on a battery tender if you are going to leave it sit for 2 months.

If I left my truck sit for 2.5 months and it suddenly had weird electrical gremlins, personally I’d be checking the wiring for rodent damage. Maybe a sensor wire got chewed off just enough to short to ground.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
2,530 Posts
Shawn