Diesel Place banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello Everybody,
I am new to this great site witha plethera of information! Keep it up!

A little history on me, I am Huge into Jeep and off roading. I am now married and have a little one. The closest place to go wheeling is three hours away. So, to long for the wife and kid to bump along in an old Jeep with big tires. I need a tow rig/ Dailey Driver.

Ofcorse go GM product. (they are the best):ro)

What I have found: 80K 02 2500HD 4x4 LS Duramax/Allison. (can't beat it, wife and I fell in love after the firat drive)

The Questions:

1. What should I look at?
2. What questions should I ask the original owner?
3. If the injectors have not been replaced, should I have it done?
4. What should be my first performance up grade?

Any help would be greatly appriacted.
Thanks
James

·
Registered
1,311 Posts
Well in my opinion the 02's are one of the best trucks out there, look for stuff in the front end, wheelbearings, play in the steering wheel, general stuff like that. Ask if the injectors have ever been done, if they haven't not a real big deal, they are warrantied for 200k. You will notice hard starting, low oil press. white smoke crappy milage if they are bad. Has it ever been chipped? If it has I would question the trans, most likely it is fine. For your first upgrade do an exhaust system next would be a chip, I love my edge Juice Attitude, I personally do not like the programmer style tuners, I like the on the fly adjustability.

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
TY very much for the quick reply.