Diesel Place banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
812 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I went down to get fuel and i saw a brand new(the smell gave it away) LBZ so i was talking to the attendant he said the guy just pumped $40 in gas into it.

·
Registered
468 Posts
Did anyone tell him so he didn't start it up with the gas in it? :confused:

·
Registered
812 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
He had already moved it and went to get a tow truck.

·
Registered
826 Posts
This is my first diesel and I was totally freaked out and worried I would put gas in mine the first month or so. Never really came close, but I have been putting gas in cars/motorcycles for over 20 years. Old habits die hard. Now I just hope I do not put diesel in a motorcycle.

Leaving the truck running at the pump helps me remember. Since my last truck was a 2500HD gasser the idea of jumping out a the ruck and putting gas in it remained basically the same as before. I need to break that habit quick or end up like this poor guy.

·
Registered
1,518 Posts
That has been my biggest fear. I know atleast one BP station that has their diesel hose at the same location as the gasoline pump. Other words you you pull up to pump but the gas hose is on the left and the diesel is on the right. Other than the large nasty pump nozzle and the handle being green there is not much way to tell the difference.

Also while we are talking about getting fuel what is the best way to fuel up my truck without overflowing the fuel down the side of the truck. I usually pump it fairly fast until I know I am getting close to the top then I ease the rest in. I learned right fast that you don't lock the nozzle down and expect it to cut off in time before it spews out.
:badidea:

·
Registered
1,196 Posts