Diesel Place banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
166 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to the diesel world and was wondering when I do my first oil change, what oil should I go with? Should I replace it with the 15w-40 they put in from the factory, or should I change to 5w-30 from Amsoil? Also do I need to replace the external Transmission filter at that time? Also what is your opinion on the oil filtration system from Amsoil? And also do I need to use any fuel additives? Thanks for any assistance you guys/gals provide me with!!!

Joe

·
Registered
123 Posts
Hey, Welcome.

First, you really didn't give a lot of info, like mileage etc. I am assuming you have the Dmax and Alley. First, DO NOT go with a 10w30 oil, it is not recommended. anywhere from a 5W40 which is rated for the Dmax diesel, THe letters on the rating, I believe without looking ar CH-4 and another. BUt be sure and look in the book. Again mileage depends on the Trans filter as well. Advice is to stay with OEM on the filter for sure. Some have had problems with aftermarket restricting flow and causing temp. problems.

Good luck,

·
Registered
166 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Yeah I only have 1600 miles on the truck so I am not doing an oil change anytime soon, but I just want to be prepared, seeing as how this is my first diesel truck.

·
Registered
208 Posts
Filters