Diesel Place banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
114 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
<TABLE id=HB_Mail_Container height="100%" cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0 UNABLE="on">
<T>
<TR height="100%" UNABLE="on" width="100%">
<TD id=HB_Focus_Element vAlign=top width="100%" background="" height=250 UNABLE="off">

hello!...i'm the VERY new daddy to a 2001 GMC 2500HD CC SB 4X4 LST
...it just turned 40k...LOVE it so far...

the maint advice here tells me it's time for FOB, etc...the sales mgr at the re-sale lot where i adpoted my jimmy told me to use only rotella oil...any opinions re that?...what do the dealerships use?

there is a GMC dealership close by...shud i have them do my maint, or shud i find a reputable independent?

any and all input is VERY welcome...i've NO experience with diesels, and am not much of a mechanic...took college placement courses
instead of auto shop

thanks.............wayne

</TD></TR>
<TR UNABLE="on" hb_tag="1">
<TD style="FONT-SIZE: 1pt" height=1 UNABLE="on">
<DIV id=hotbar_promo></DIV></TD></TR></T></TABLE>

·
Registered
514 Posts
Where in NOVA? Any CH or CI API rated oil in your choice of 5w-40 or 15w-40 range. Lots to choose from Rotella, Dello, Delvac1 etc; Edited by: Hound

·
Registered
19 Posts
I have only used Rotella in my diesel trucks and equipment for 20 years, I'm sure there are better oils out there at a higher price, but if you change your oil at 5 or 6,000 and use a high quality oil filter, I prefer Baldwin, your engine should outlast the truck.

An old farmer once told me, clean oil, clean fuel and clean air will keep any engine running a long time!

·
Registered
114 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
<TABLE id=HB_Mail_Container height="100%" cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0 UNABLE="on">
<T>
<TR height="100%" width="100%" UNABLE="on">
<TD id=HB_Focus_Element vAlign=top width="100%" background="" height=250 UNABLE="off">