Diesel Place banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys,

Im new hear but My father just purchased a 2008 Silverado 2500HD LTZ 6.6 Duramax Turbo Diesel truck and I have a few questions because I want to get him a few parts.

I've been reading the forums for the past few hours because I am new to diesel trucks and trying to learn about the mechanics. I have a 400+ rwhp mustang with all the boltons and some nitrous, so this isn't my specialty.

I want to get a tuner, intake, and get rid of the exhaust filter.

First the tuner. I need a tuner that can easily change between programs, and something that is easily updated or can be changed. Ide like something that comes with pre programs, or has a place to download programs for the truck. I would need a towing tune, a max hp and tq tune, and a good fuel efficient tune. What would be the best tuner for my situation? I would also like to increase the boost. Would a tuner do that or do I need a boost controller, or is there a wastegate to control the boost? Does anybody know the stock boost, and what a good save increase would be. The truck just doesn't seem fast right now. It also only shifts at 3000 rpms in drive, and 3500 in manual. Can the rev limiter and shift points be moved a little higher? It still seems like the truck has some power up top while in boost.

I would also like to get an intake, but after some reading I see that the K&N filters cause a check engine light. What is a good filter that would get me the most gains?

And finally, The DFP. I read up on this and it seems this filter reduces my gas mileage by a lot, and restricts the flow of exhaust gases? Is there a write up on how to remove this safely without causing any other trouble or check engine lights. Or is there anybody in the South Florida that works on trucks that could do this?