Diesel Place banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i'm new to the site and to diesels,, i'm a student and drive 50 miles one way every day, even on weekends, to either work there or classes,, i'm wanting something that i can make look good and get good mileage, wanting to go with short bed extend cab, what years would be good to look at?? and what can i do to help power wise;) , i'm wantin to put these ricers in some smoke:grd: :lol:

·
Registered
1,311 Posts
Really any dmax is a good choice, early 01's had a few problems but nothing major. Where are you a student at?

·
Registered
289 Posts
That's my situation as well... dont' realy need the power but justified it on the grounds of economy. Not a whole lot better in that departement either (but a little)... but I don't want to go back now. I'm addicted.

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
i'm a student at univeristy of missouri,, forestry/ fisheries and wildlife major.. want a truck i can USE for a while, and take care of the local ricers:muahaha:

·
Registered
2,738 Posts
love my 02'

·
Registered
2,362 Posts
Welcome!!!!!! I personally would look for 03-04 LB7.
:exactly: good years and engine! Just my 2c. Just look out for the 2004.5 those are the LLYs and I have read lots of posts about overheating. The later LB7s are really the way to go. The new LBZs sound really nice but they are going to be big bucks still too new.

Good luck finding one there are a few out there but not a lot.

·
Registered
2,362 Posts
Cowboy717......sorry, I forgot to say welcome to the site.....a lot of great members to help with problems and answer your questions!!!!

·
Registered
148 Posts
Welcome! I love my 03'

·
Registered
308 Posts
I cant complain about my 02'. I get on average 18-22mpg being easy on the throttle with lots of cruise control on the highways. I havent had any issuses with it. And its fun toasting rice burners in a huge truck!

·
Registered
308 Posts