Diesel Place banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
91 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I looking to get an 04 2500HD with the Dmax.

a friend of mine is a mechanic for FDNY and he said that they've been having problems with the dmax engines. he said i should look into the fords because they have less problems.

Is this true?

i really like the 2500HD. but i am new to the whole diesel thing.

is there anything i should know about the diesel engine before i get one?

any info would be great.

thanks

vin

·
Registered
78 Posts
Let me guess, your buddy owns a Ford.

The Dmax is a great engine. The only problems I have heard of is with the fuel injectors getting clogged with dirty fuel. This is easily fixed with an aftermarket filter set-up. I am sure some of the other guys from the board may think of something that I am not but, I know the Dmax is great engine. As a matter of fact, check out the service records on the Dmax and compare them to Ford's new 6.0. I think you will see that the stories of the Dmax having problems is a bunch of bunk. I wouldn't trade mine for anything.

·
Registered
91 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
thanks Camp

thats good to know.

it's very hard to pick a truck out of the big three.

actually my friend doesn't even own a truck.

vin

·
Registered
78 Posts
All of the big three trucks are great trucks. I just know Ford has had some major problems with there new engine and if I remember correctly, they had a recall on a bunch of them for something to do with the engine.

I have 47K miles on my Dmax and couldn't be happier with my truck. The only thing I would change about my truck if I could is a would make it a crew cab dually

I have only had one problem with the truck since new. I had a relay hang up on my intake heater one night and drain my batteries. I can't really fault the Dmax for that, it was an electrical failure of sorts.Edited by: camp

·
Registered
16,610 Posts

·
Registered
12,262 Posts