Diesel Place banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just joined the site and have spent many hours reading everything. I think I made a mistake buying a diesel. Everyone talks how tuff they are, long lasting....etc. Seems like they need more care than a gas powered truck. Am I wrong?

·
Banned
2,067 Posts
RAREBU M-80,

Good to hear from you. I am new to whole diesel seen my self. I have owned my Dmax since March03 and have racked up 21k miles. Every vehicle is going to need standard maintenace. I do not think the Dmax needs anymore than any other vehicle. As a matter of fact they have done alot of things to make it very easy for you to maintain your vehicle. Front and rear axels have both a fill plug and a drain plug so you do not need to pull the cover and reseal. The tranny has a spin off auxiallary filter which is very easy to change. The main filter is also easy to change due to a drain plug in the Allison pan. The engine has one serpintine belt that is probally good for well over 100k. It is also easy to change. The air filter comes out with 4 screws. It also last a very long time and has external indicators to let you know how it is doing. The fuel filter is a little tricky to gain access to but once you do it a couple of times it is no problem. The fuel filter also has its own water indicator and petcok valve. Very nice. The fuel system also has a fail proof vent/prime system for use after changing the filter or accidently running out of fuel(which you don't want to let happen) The fuel warning indiactor will help you avoid this. The oil filter is very easy to access and remove. There is even an oil indicator system that tells you when to change your oil based on engine revolutions. Can't go wrong there. The absolute biggest concern is the fuel injector system. It is not that it is faulty or even unreliable. It is truly the price of this repair, if ever needed that is scaring the begesus out of people. Unless you are a fatcat