Diesel Place banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just picked up a 65 Chevy 2wd 3/4 ton truck . I plan on building it to tow my jeep/+friends jeep or my boat long distances. So far I have decided on a 6.2 (because I have one new and 2 old cucv engines) backed with a NV4500 5 speed tranny.Does any one on this board have that combo?Right now I have a rebuilt corprate 14 with 4.10 gears setting in the shed I plan on swaping the orginal axel out for. I figure with that combo I should be turning 2500 rpms at 70 mph ,is that going to be winding her to tite?I was a farmer for along time and never liked pushing my tractor diesels over 2300.What do yall consider the best rpm range for the 6.2? Ive never done a diesel SWAP before , is there anything I should know about dropping in a 6.2? Sorry for all the general questions ,one of my buds at EarlyCJ5.com told me yall were a great bunch of guys over here. Thanks yall

·
Registered
140 Posts
Welcome!! I just did a similiar swap on my '80 K-20 p/u and I am just about done with it. It was a pretty easy straight forward swap...and since your truck is 2WD, you don't have to worry about clearance issues with the slave cylinder and front drive shaft. I think your best bet is to get a NV4500 bellhousing from a gasser and use the clutch master and slave cylinder from that as well. It should more or less be a bolt in swap. If you do use the gasser bellhousing, you will need to use the Powermaster gear reduction starter as the factory starter will not clear the bellhousing (the nose cone is too big, however, the Powermaster starter does not use a nose cone, and therefore, has not interference issues) You can get the Powermaster starter from Summit, they are about $300, but in my opinion, worth every penny of it.