Diesel Place banner

1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi everyone.. I am a new owner of a '08 C4500 GMC Topkick Monroe Conversion Duramax 2wd. I bought the truck in June of this year. It has some of the following options/stats.. 22k miles, triple air ride, engine brake, Cinch leather interior, DVD/MTX audio/theater system, power sunroof, billet grills, exc..

Im new to the Duramax diesels but not to turbo charged applications. I have been building and racing 1986-87 Intercooled Buick Grand Nationals/Turbo T's for almost 20 years.(Thus the TopkickGN screen name..lol:D)

I have done several appearance mods to my truck including full LED lighting, Hella driving lights flush mounted in bumper, upgraded headlights, Beaman Composites front air dam. I am now looking to get into the performance mods of the truck.

I use this truck to primarily haul my 36ft. ATC Aluminum gooseneck race trailer but sometimes it will be a cruiser. I took it for the first time a couple weeks ago on a thousand mile round trip to the track and the truck was absolutly awesome! I had a '99 Chevy crew cab Choo Choo Customs dually 4x4 before this truck with the 454. It was getting like 8 mpg pulling the trailer. Im not sure what the 4500 was getting other than I know it did MUCH better than my old truck and was twice as fun to drive.

Ive read alot on this forum already and seen where alot of guys seem to like the PPE programmer on stage 2. My truck being an '08 has the DPF and Im not sure if this will work for my application. Id also like a display type programmer if theres one out there that performs well and will work with the DPF. Id like the truck to be alot stronger and get better fuel mileage but not to the point of tearing up the trans. Im not worried about voiding the warranty.. so exhaust mods I will do if need be.