Diesel Place banner

1 - 1 of 1 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Salutation Everyone,

I’m very new to the diesel world as well as this :cool2: Diesel Place forum. This particular thread http://www.dieselplace.com/forum/showthread.php?t=63151&highlight=clattering caught my attention because of the subject regarding “clattering” and I’ve read both pages including the links provided by Hotwater. Most of the issues with a broken #2 and/or #7 injector wires go together with lost of power to the point of requiring a tow to the nearest dealer.

I’m wondering if my excessive clattering normally around 1700~2000-rpm could progressively be going towards the same broken wires. It doesn't matter if its semi-cold or wormed up at 185-degrees, when I hit those rpm ranges, clattering is noticeable and it doesn’t matter at what speeds. Although, it doesn’t seem to have a noticeable lost of power (at least to the point of having to call for a tow). I’m relatively mild on the forward peddle anyway, due to the newness towards a big diesel truck. My contemporary daily driver is a small modified Equinox that’s fairly zippy.

I just bought this 04.5lly truck in Texas last July and haven’t put to many miles on it; in fact it only has 6750 miles on it today. I’ve been slowly educating myself on the overabundance of modifications that can be done on these trucks; it’s almost overwhelming how much power can be achieved with just a programmer.