Diesel Place banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi my name is wesley i'm new to diesel place. I have a 95 k1500 6.5 TD the truck has had a lot done to it. I've put in a pmd and injectors along with glow plugs just to name some. The truck has been starting hard. It takes about 4 to 5 cranks to get it started. I go out to start the truck at 7 in the moring and at 5 at night. but its about 40 out side. should it start that hard? And i've notice it's really hard to start when the truck is ponting up hill. I think it's something to do with fuel.

thank you for reading

·
6.5TD Post Addict
9,886 Posts
Leaking O-rings in the filter manager can cause hard starts after sitting because air gets in the fuel system.

Be sure that the glow plugs are getting power when the wait to start light is on.

And do the lift pump tests to ensure it is working properly:
http://www.dieselplace.com/forum/showthread.php?t=39350

·
Just Horsing Around
17,552 Posts
Are you getting lots of white smoke while cranking before it starts, or none at all?

·
Just Horsing Around
17,552 Posts
So..you mention it only seems to happen when parked in one direction - if you park it nose-down does it start better in the morning?

(Trying to figure out if this is a fuel drainback/leak issue, or a glowplug issue...)

·
Registered
1995 GMC Suburban
18,454 Posts
How about the OPS? mostly problem with LP is actually OPS issue since it controls LP when engine is running.

A lot of discussion on this topic if you search.

·
Just Horsing Around
17,552 Posts
How about the OPS? mostly problem with LP is actually OPS issue since it controls LP when engine is running.

A lot of discussion on this topic if you search.
It would still start with little hesitation though. Tons of 6.5's unknowingly running around with dead LP's and starting/running fine...symptoms only appear when the IP craps the bed, or stumbling/low power under heavy load.

·
6.5TD Post Addict
9,886 Posts