Diesel Place banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
141 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm not an expert..just so you know

Okay when I step hard on the gas its sounds like a blow off valve on a rice rocket really loud , it will hiss and push out air like a jet engine (a waste gate doesn't hiss like that usually does it? and I cant figure out where the hell its coming from....:mad: I have never heard it do this before.....

The other side to that is I have been losing coolant lately and I can't find the leak could that be part of it as well?

All ideas welcome...

·
Registered
31 Posts
check all your tubing and fittings for leaks, tighten all hose clamps,, could be a wastegate blowing off premature -- but then I have never heard the sound your talking about, check your radiator and intercooler, you may have taken a rock or got something impaled through them... ... probably no help was I??

·
Registered
1,155 Posts
When our water pump went there was no sign of a leak, no puddles or anything. I'd have that checked after you check the hoses and clamps.

Don't know about the noise, assuming it's different for the turbo spool.

·
Registered
1,155 Posts
double tap

·
Registered
72 Posts
watch your boost pressure when your on the throttle. If its not comin up you got a leaking intercooler or intake piping. Seen it lots on highway tractors. Hope this helps you out

·
Registered
141 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
I am going to check it out when I get a day off from work. I will let you guys know thsnks for the help

·
Premium Member
9,403 Posts
My water pump was leaking out the bottom of the pump. Didn't notice it except at certain times. Usurally not when it was at my house :mad: . Always when out driving and I'd stop someplace and notice it.

I too have the hissing noise and believe it to be some type of boost/intercooler leak. I changed one rubber boot but no change yet. I'm going for the boost line next. I can't build much boost and I get crappy MPG now.

·
Registered