Diesel Place banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
96 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a newbie, so please cut me some slack ...

I just bought a 2006 2500HD Duramax 4x4. I ended up with a 4x4 because it's what they had in stock and I didn't want to wait 8 weeks for an order. I will be towing a 24' trailer with a race car that will be 7-8,000 lbs. I've never owned a truck before and have always towed with an SUV. I decided to quit fooling around and get real so I could tow an enclosed trailer instead of an open one.

The truck is a bit higher than I would prefer. Given that I don't plan to go off-roading where ground clearance is an issue, how much hassle would it be to lower the truck 2"? Would it cost more than $1000 to do so?

·
Registered
16,971 Posts
Welcome to the Diesel Place. I think you will find this site to have tons of information and knowledgeable people that will help you along the way. Please do not hesitate to ask any questions. Use the search feature as many have asked the questions that you need answers to. It will be your friend. Thanks for joining up, we are happy to have you and most of all, Enjoy..

·
Registered
194 Posts

I just bought a 2006 2500HD Duramax 4x4. I ended up with a 4x4 because it's what they had in stock and I didn't want to wait 8 weeks for an order. I will be towing a 24' trailer with a race car that will be 7-8,000 lbs. I've never owned a truck before and have always towed with an SUV. I decided to quit fooling around and get real so I could tow an enclosed trailer instead of an open one.

The truck is a bit higher than I would prefer. Given that I don't plan to go off-roading where ground clearance is an issue, how much hassle would it be to lower the truck 2"? Would it cost more than $1000 to do so?
The 4x4 and 2 whee drive 2500HD trucks are the same hight from the dealer. but lowering a 4x4 is going to be a little harder and more expensive. Contact www.outlawoffroad.com