Diesel Place banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hello. Please forgive my Diesel ignorance, but i am still new to diesel. Can someone please explain to me what exactly is a "lift pump", what does it do? where is it located? and what does it look like (if it can be described) ? I am still trying to figure out my "chugging" problem, (i think maybe 3 posts ago) and am wondering about fuel pump, and lift pump - i read skippee's post about power - kind of sounds like my problem, except sometimes i have a LOT of power for a few seconds, but most of the time it just idles off-and-on like, and stalls. or on highway "chugs" along rocking the truck back and forwards (feels like) i have an 88 6.2 silverado, and again please forgive my ignorance, but i am new to diesel, and want to learn. Also, does my truck have a lift pump ??

thanks again, from reading posts here, you all sound like very knowledgeable and helpful people.

·
Registered
124 Posts
Lift pump is a mechanical fuel pump on the right front lower ection of the engine. It is just like on a old chevy gasser.

The lift pump moves fuel from the tank to the fuel filter. It has a check vavle in it to hold pressure.

Testing it, well it should build 14 psi while cranking, and should hold 14 psi when stopped.

·
Registered
575 Posts
well,

I have a 89 GMC 3500 , and the lift pump according to the gm cataloge (88-91) it's a mechanical fuel pump on the right hand side of the motor, BUT my 89 doesn't have that, I have a electric pump on the frame right under the drivers door, (on the inside) this is the setup on the 92- and up trucks, if yours has the electric there should be a relay on the firewall on the pass side, that is the problem my truck had, ( i think) I bypassed the relay and ran power to the pump and now it's fine, truck has lots of power, if you run power to the pump you should hear a ticking noise (sounds like a fish pump) if not the pumps shot... hope this helps

Todd

·
Registered