Diesel Place banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
:help: I am new to all this so I have some questions so please bear with me, I have a 2005 GMC Yukon XL 2500 6.0 and the rake on the truck looks ridiculous and planning a tire change soon on stock rims dueler revos. So here we go,
I am understanding that these so called green keys are available gm products to raise my front end without cranking down the torsion bar bolts. I also realize that shock extensions are needed,
So here are my questions (I do not do any off roading)

(1) Will the CV joint bind with this lift
(2) Will it ride like[email protected]#$$
(3) will it affect my autoride suspension
(4) Will it affect my tie rods and pitman arm?
(5) Will this cause premature front end wear?
(6) Will it affect my warrantee?

Ok how about this cognito leveling kit, I spoke to them and they sounded very intelligent about their control arms kits but I forgot to ask if I still needed the keys, or about cv joint binding and the ride change we also spoke about the pitman arm kit which they said the stock setup was was a factory flaw design and this would improve it is this all really necessary for this improvement any help would be greatly appreciated

·
Registered
898 Posts
For starters the green keys are nothing more than OE replacement keys that are indexed higher than the ones already on your vehicle. You could crank your OE keys approx. 5-6 full turns and end up where the "green " keys will start out at. IMHO: save your $$ and try cranking the OE keys first.

(1) If you just crank the OE keys enough to level your vehicle they wont bind, but there will be some added stress that may cause them to wear out sooner. How much sooner is debatable and depends on many other factors.
(2) Again thats debatable, however replacing the OE shocks or at least adding spacers will definately help.
(3) Not sure, I dont see why it would.