Diesel Place banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
228 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
A few days ago I posted about how my turbo was barking and asked if anyone knew where to get a blow-off valve to to relieve the surging and other things that happen when you have to suddenly let off the gas.....well I found a Blow-off valve that is good for Duramax's that are under 400 h.p.(type-S) and over 400 h.p.(type-R). Hope this helps!

Also since this is helping the turbo would this be a warranty killer or would they even know if I installed it? Any D-max techs info would be appreciated!!!!!!!!

Thanks guys in advance,

Mark

OPPS!! forgot to mention that the maker of the blow-off valve is GReddy and can be found @ www.greddy.comEdited by: DURAMAXED03

·
Registered
494 Posts
Why do you need a blow off valve? It doesn't hurt anything to bark the turbo. Do you have the wastegate modified or is it stock.

·
Registered
228 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
stock.......plus I'm a newbie that doesn't know much so I might seem foolish to people that know what there talking about

·
Registered
494 Posts
I haven't seen one instance where barking the turbo hurt a thing. But installing the valve wouldn't harm a thing either. Main thing is to not disable the wastegate hose or you could harm something.

·
Registered
228 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
would you be touching the wastegate hose to install it? and are you ready for this....I don't know a wastegate from a wastebasket. I know I know, sad but true

·
Registered
12,262 Posts
The wastegate is your blow off valve ....

My turbo will bark also when I'm heavy in the throttle then just get out of the throttle real quick ....

Now if you block the wastegate and bark it on acceleration and are building well over 30 LBS of boost then I'd be concerned ...

Mac

·
Registered
228 Posts
Discussion Starter #7