Diesel Place banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Administrator
22,006 Posts
Well, it turns out that seafoam does nothing detectable to solve the problem I have.

I think one of my injectors simply doesn't like low load, elevated RPM conditions. It's done this smoking thing since I've owned it (4 years), yet it starts, idles, cruises, accelerates perfectly, every time. No oil consumption, normal operating temperatures. But, that's only my first guess, and I have no experience with diesel engines.

It seems the only way to know for sure is to change out those injectors. Or, get them tested and cleaned/serviced, if that is done any more. Something new to learn about.

Are fuel injectors particularly difficult to remove and replace on the 6.5? Comparable to spark plugs in difficulty?
I would pop test those injectors. You can test them yourself and make a pop tester out of a bottle jack. there are a few "How to " videos on Youtube on making a pop tester out of a bottle jack.

Injectors are fairly straightforward to remove/replace. You won't have a turbo getting in your way but still can be a knuckle buster if you're not careful.
When reinstalling be sure to use new return lines. There are kits out there that use no hold down clamps that will make things a little easier

·
Administrator
22,006 Posts
Yes, grey/white smoke can be injectors. It can also be a cooling system issue or just a glow plug system issue.
If it was a cooling system issue, you would also see bubbles within the coolant, recovery tank, hard upper rad hose while the engine is running, signs of oil in coolant or coolant in the oil.
Glow plug issues would be hard starts, heavy smoke that clears up. WTS light that stays on longer than normal, etc

Injectors that leak can cause some bad issues for an engine.
Leaky injectors will leave unburned fuel to pool up in the cylinder and cause excessive EGT's, pistons can crack or melt and cook the heads. excessive smoke, poor performance.