Diesel Place banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
4,266 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
what a PITA.:eek:

I wanted an extra turn on the block fittings but ran out of room. I made a special socket that had a section cut out for the block fitting that worked well. I wish I had a set of snub wrenches for tight spots. Get some if you are going to do the job.

Not sure about the line routing, either. I studied all of the pics here and on other diesel sites but still feel a little uncomfortable about the possibility of long term rubbing. I used the plastic covers from the original lines and thought that a 700x20c bicycle tube would also protect the lines well. No way was I going to take off the lines and do it over, though. I also struggled with the plastic air dam and bending the SS line too much. In the end I think my solution worked out OK.

I broke about 7 trouble lights.

Still no clue on why my front suspension clunks when I release my brakes from a stop. Sounds like a loose pad in the caliper... But, everything's tight.

Noticed a little play in the front CV joint. And, despite being changed about a month ago, the rear transfer case seal is leaking like a sieve. Do they make a seal that doesn't leak?

Lots of oil on the underside of my truck. Time for the car wash.

·
Registered
3,598 Posts
Last time i had a clunk like that the main bearing on the front hub was on its way out, i didn't realize it until the wheel ****ed sideways on my one day going around a corner, just made it home or it would have fallen off.

BTW Nick, the front right has a new wheel bearing and spindle... lol

·
Registered
4,266 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
CR,

Is there a test I can perform? I'm in the process of getting my truck ready for a trip and I kinda don't want to have my wheel to fall off. ;) I'll poke around and see what I can see while the truck is still on the stands.

·
Registered
3,598 Posts