Diesel Place banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
60 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
<TABLE id=HB_Mail_Container height="100%" cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0 UNABLE="on">
<T>
<TR height="100%" width="100%" UNABLE="on">
<TD id=HB_Focus_Element vAlign=top width="100%" background="" height=250 UNABLE="off">

2K on 04 DMAX, Did not punch it til now ( trying to break it in slowly). Under full throttle, noticing injector ping (4th gear just before shift to 5th). Is this common with the diesels? It had been cold 0-15 F, when this happened. Also have the CAT &EGR on the LB7 . It still pulls good, but that knock and ping seems strange, but I am new to diesels IS THIS NORMAL????

JEFF</TD></TR>
<TR UNABLE="on" hb_tag="1">
<TD style="FONT-SIZE: 1pt" height=1 UNABLE="on">
<DIV id=hotbar_promo></DIV></TD></TR></T></TABLE>

·
Registered
4,061 Posts
Jeff-

What you are hearing is probably the pilot injection shutting off above 2400ish RPM (depends on load and throttle position, etc). It gets noticeably louder. There is no harm in it and every single one does it.

Noises are subjective, of course, but I'm taking odds that's what you're hearing. Search the threads; it's been discussed a lot in the past.

·
Banned
394 Posts
mine does the same....

·
Banned
6,541 Posts

·
Registered
941 Posts
I heard noise sometimes on hard accleration from the passenger side...opps wait that's only when the wife is in the truck telling me to knock it off!!