Diesel Place banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Newbie here, I enjoy all the knowledge on this site. Hoping someone else out there has experienced this...2 things

At first start up while the volt meter is still climbing to normal (30-45 seconds), if I lightly press accelerator the truck will have a noticable "shake" like a gasser that's missing on a cylinder. This is before any change in r's on the tach.

Also during idle it seems the engine is "surging" inconsistantly. I can barly see any change on the tach, but hear a noticible change from my straighted exhaust.

Any help is appreciated, thanks

Gavin

·
Registered
1,311 Posts
I would say fuel pressure regulator, if it is surging, do a search on it. When was the last time the fuel filter was changed?

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for the input.
I'll search threads for the regulator. I will try the filter this weekend and let you know, I think it's been 6-10K have to check my records in the truck. I need to do the free replacement anyway from the TSB.

Anyone else ideas???

·
Registered
9,300 Posts
amp meter is glow plugs on/off
surging idle is pump or pressure reg

Mine does it too........

·
Registered
12,262 Posts
The voltmeter is normal. A hot surging idle is one of two things the FRPCV as mentioned above or injectors out of spec.

·
LT. Dan
6,817 Posts
surging

my truck does the surging thing also. mostly when she is warming up. about 50-75 rpms. sometimes it takes a while for my volt meter to rise up too. ususally 10seconds at the most. should i replace my fuel pressure regulator? i have a brand new fuel filter, and i run howes in every tank.

·
Registered
2,473 Posts
My voltmeter takes forever to go up even in the summer i have to drive a ways before it comes up. Both Batteries are new. I was told by gm this is fine but i think its too long. Consider urself lkucky its only 10 secs

·
Registered
298 Posts