Diesel Place banner
1 - 20 of 39 Posts

· Registered
822 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Do these really increase the life of the pitman arm and idler arm? if so by how much. my truck eats these parts in 10,000 miles and i need to increase the life of these parts cause it is costing me an arm and a leg.

Is cognito (sp) the ones to get?

Also is there and thing to help the hubs last longer too. my truck likes to eat those too.

Is there anything else i should look at putting on my truck to help the crappy IFS? and if so why?

Thanks Guys
Tom

· Registered
518 Posts
When I replaced both arms at 25K, I added the Cognito supports. Now with close to four times the miles, both replacement arms are still tight.

IMHO, they work!

Good luck on the bearings. I haven't found a solution that that.

· Registered
82 Posts
How do I go about determining if the idler and pitman arm are worn out. My truck has 29000, and everything seems fine, but Ive been plowing with it for two years now and Im wondering about the idler and pitman.

· Registered
2,899 Posts
but the truck on some jack stands and see if you can turn the front wheels (like your are trying to steer them) with your hands there shouldn't be to much play i just put my braces on and replaced a hub the next hub i replace will be from carquest or some were they give a life time warrenty that is were i got my lower ball-joints

· Registered
822 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
jdugie123;1547588; said:
but the truck on some jack stands and see if you can turn the front wheels (like your are trying to steer them) with your hands there shouldn't be to much play i just put my braces on and replaced a hub the next hub i replace will be from carquest or some were they give a life time warrenty that is were i got my lower ball-joints
Do you have the braces and if so how have they been making your arms last with those big tires?

· Registered
92 Posts