Diesel Place banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
116 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a real rookie with this whole diesel thing. Since buying my first diesel in March, a 2004 GMC 3500 DRW CC SLT 4X4 LLY/Allison, I've been trying to get used to the way diesels perform. In addition, I'm trying to readjust the way I think and change some of my old habits like remembering to look for stations with diesel fuel, waiting for the glow plug light before starting, etc. In addition to that, someone has told me that it is necessary to let the engine "idle down" for 30-60 seconds before shutting off the key. I can't find anything about this in the owner's manual but, since that time, I sit in the truck for about 60 seconds before shutting it off. Is this really necessary, is it recommended, or am I the victim of some kind of "let's mess with the new guy" diesel humor?

·
Registered
648 Posts
Many people say that that's not necessary with the DMax b/c the turbo's water cooled. I'm a creature of habit, though, so I let mine idle for a minute or so (while I gather up stuff to get out like wallet, lunchbox, etc) before I shut it off.

My old man ground into me to let his turbocharged farm tractors idle before shutting off, so I guess I'm hardwired.
I'm sure one of the techs around here will pipe in soon to answer your question.

·
Registered
473 Posts
I am a firm believer in letting the engine idle for at least one minute before shutting it down. I am not sure if it is necessary, but a little prevention never hurts. Just to give the turbo a chance to slow down. I used to work on industrial Natural Gas Turbo Charged Engines. They had a Post Lube pump on them just for that reason. Edited by: BIGMoe

·
Registered
91 Posts
BIGMoe