Diesel Place banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
383 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have read and searched but cannot find the answer. If you're adding the Edge J/A and pillar gauges where do you tap for the second Thermo Couple?

·
Registered
383 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Anybody?

·
Registered
1,621 Posts
I have no practical experience for the second tap but...I believe I read in another thread somewhere that some prefer to tap in the driver's side manifold in the same general location as the passenger side tap.

From merely a "thinking about it" standpoint, I can't think of any reason to tap in right next to your original one on the passenger side either. Mine had/has room for 2.

My reason to tap the same side includes the facts that:
1. You're only modifying one manifold
2. Routing of wires is a no-brainer as you did it before
3. Ease of access
4. I can't think of any reason not to tap the same manifold again

My only reason to tap the other manifold:
1. Now you could compare the sides and have 2 separate points of reference.

Hope my $.02 helps...

:grd:

·
Registered
997 Posts
I have an Edge/Attitude and Autometer pillar gauges. I piggy backed the Autometer gauge on the same thermocouple as the Edge. I tried them both separate and together and not enough difference in readings to worry about.

·
Registered
3,291 Posts
I installed my second thermocouple in the rear of the driver side manifold, straight up from the bottem. I used a tap handle that you can install 3/8 drive ratchet extensions into. I think I needed 12-18" of extensions.

·
Registered
3,738 Posts
I have an Edge/Attitude and Autometer pillar gauges. I piggy backed the Autometer gauge on the same thermocouple as the Edge. I tried them both separate and together and not enough difference in readings to worry about.

that is what I did. I called EDGE and they told me to do it that way.

·
Registered
383 Posts
Discussion Starter #7

·
Registered
383 Posts
Discussion Starter #8