Diesel Place banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have the 6.5 detroit diesel in the truck when I bought this truck on Saturday they seller said to me that the truck runs rough as hell so I thought maybe 2 thing air or fuel .... I started with the air system changed the filter I checked for any blow by or oil in the turbo or anything wrong that I could tell from my experience as a diesel tech I checked the fuel system and even changed the filter and bleed the system. The seller told me that there was the feed the beast mod on it and tbh I don't know what that is but I tired looking it up to see what it was seem to be a fuel upgrade but I haven't heard of this mod so I have 2 issue I see that makes this engine bad atm When you started the truck it takes a lot of turning the key off and on so I don't over crack the starter but if I hold It and keep slamming on the gas it seem to kick but if I hold it all the way down to the floor and it start it runs but when I let off the gas it seem to die out in secs but if you hold it down you keep it up around 1rpm and if you hold it down for 1 min straight it seem to recorrect it self it revs to max once I let go it idles like nothing never happen but I get two codes on it 35 36 or even 34 but I know it around them 3 because I kept repeating it in my head but anyway I noticed when I get it warm up and seem to have the throttle service light on and as well for the service engine soon go on and off fast . But when driving it it all goes away its just a horrible start up and a rough 5-10 mins of trying to get it to idle.

·
Administrator
18,476 Posts
Welcome to DieselPlace
The "Feed the beast mod" is a modification to the fuel filter housing that allows more fuel to flow thru. ( You can read about it in our 6.5L FAQ page)

Start by performing a lift pump test Reference Material: Lift Pump/OPS