Diesel Place banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
634 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone,

I looked on both this site and HyperTechs for some information on if you can install one of their chips on a stock truck and if so, what is the horsepower/torque differences.

Does anyone have information on this?

Thank you,

Pete..:)

·
Registered
906 Posts
Yeah, stay away from the Hypertech chip!!!!:badidea: Get ahold of John Kennedy or Bill Heath on here for a good chip.:grd:

·
Registered
4,805 Posts
While I have no first hand experience about hypertech in the 6.5, I have read a couple bad things about it. There's also at least one member here who has the hypertech in his 6.5 and is happy with it.

Bullydog is another one to avoid. Fancy brand name but they get them from a subcontractor.

I got my pcm reflash from Wester's, who also does the reflashes for Kennedy. I ended up getting a POS remanufactured pcm when I bought my reflash. The thing would be fine for weeks, then it would stall out when you least expected it (mostly with my wife). It cost me an additional $1,300 in towing and repairs before it was finally diagnosed as a bad PCM. Then it was an extra $45 for a replacement pcm:cool: .

Bottom line is that you can have bad luck with any supplier. CHECK OUT THE WARRANTY BEFORE YOU BUY.

·
Registered
634 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thank you for your answers guys. I will continue to do some research as what would be the best for me. I'm looking for a product with a proved track record.

·
Registered
187 Posts