Diesel Place banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
58 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

Im buying a 2006 Duramax, I have driven fords all my life and this is my first Chev.... :ro) .

One thing im not too sure on is how much to lift my new truck. I run offroad quite a bit - i work in the oil industry, but mostly i will be putting on highway miles. However, I do need some extra clearance, i think the Duramax does sit a little too low stock.

How much of a lift would i need to put 285's on the stock 16" rims and how much lift would i need to fit 33-35 inch tires?

Thank you in advance.

·
Registered
32 Posts
285's should fit with just a small torsion bar crank, or a little trimming
33-35's it probably best to go with a 6" suspension lift, although you can fit them with green keys, blocks in the rear and some hacking

·
Registered
1,704 Posts
Go with a 6" lift. You will be happier with the look and performance IMO. ;)

You work in the oil industry so I'm sure you can afford it! ):h

·
Registered
58 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
need pics

I think i'd like to go with a 4" lift, does anyone know if i can get one for a Duramax, does anyone have one, if so, whats it like and do you have any pictures?

·
Commissioner Gordon
5,139 Posts
If you had a Ford 4x4 now getting a Chevy 4x4 the IFS on the Chevy will have alot more ground clearance than the solid front axle, BUT the rear axle hangs low. So your first plan of attack should be tires and then work the lift around that, maybe 4" or 6".

·
Registered
1,460 Posts
6 inch with 35's is what i would go with not to big not to small but that is just what i think

·
Registered
16,973 Posts
You can install green keys and run 285's with almost no issues, might have to do a little trim here and there. Otherwise you can run a 4" or 6" kit and possibly run a larger tire.. Good luck and Welcome to the Diesel Place..

·
Registered
58 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·